top of page

"The Ghost Hunter's Daughter" Book Review


Thank you to NetGalley and East Side Press for a review copy of The Ghost Hunter's Daughter.

"'I have the strongest sense of deja vu,' she said. 'Some people think that's a sign, that you're right where you're supposed to be.'"

The Ghost Hunter's Daughter is a YA paranormal horror novel about a young girl named Anna who's mother was killed eight years ago by the demon possessing her body. Now, Anna is sixteen and an assistant to her father, who is a paranormal investigator. While Anna would love to find out the truth of what happened to her mother, she is constantly being bullied at school because of her father's occupation. But things in Anna's small town are getting worse. Anna has to figure out what is causing everyone in the town, including her herself and her best friends, to act out of character.

I really enjoyed reading this book and gave it 4/5 stars! It is great for fans of Supernatural, which is what peaked my interest in it. It was also a lot darker than I was expecting, which I enjoyed. The writing was very descriptive, the characters were flushed out, and the relationships in this book felt real. I loved reading about Anna's friendships with her two best friends as well as her relationship with her father. This book also touched on a lot of very real issues, which I thought was important. I definitely would have enjoyed this more if I read it when I was younger (like around fifteen or sixteen), but it was still enjoyable for me now. I highly recommend this book for anyone who enjoys a good paranormal mystery!

Trigger Warnings: Suicide, mental illness (hoarding, depression), physical assault, sexual harassment, death, suicidal ideation, self harm (cutting)


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page