top of page

"The Simple Wild" Book Review


Before this, I'd only read one other K.A. Tucker book and it was when I was a teenager. I remembered I loved that book so much and yet, I never read any of her other books. Picking this book up reminded me how much I love K.A. Tucker's writing and her stories. After finishing this, I went out and bought five more of K.A. Tucker's novels.

Calla has a pretty great life. Sure, she still lives with her mom and step-dad, but they're great and she has everything she could ever want. But Calla is called back to the Alaskan wild, where she was born and her father still resides. Her mother left there twenty-four years ago, not able to handle the isolation of the place. Calla doesn't enjoy it either, but she's going there for her father. Little does she know that her dad's neighbour is a young, arrogant man who takes a liking to irritating the crap out of Calla. The longer Calla stays in the Alaskan wild, though, the more she sees the appeal, and not just for the outdoors and fresh air.

I read this on the plane coming home from a vacation and that was a bad idea because by the end, I was crying and it was just not pretty. This book had a super emotional ending, so if you're not into that, I wouldn't recommend. But this book was so good!! I loved almost every aspect of it. The story was fast paced and fun, but also had a lot of depth to it. I really enjoyed it! The only issue I had with it was small, but for me, it really nagged on me. I don't like it in books when the love interest complains about the main protagonist wearing "too much" makeup. This love interest even went as far as hiding the protagonists makeup. I know it is because of where the love interest lives and his lifestyle, but it still really bothered me enough to knock .5 off the rating. Other than that little detail, I loved this book and highly recommend it. I gave The Simple Wild 4.5/5 stars.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page