top of page

"The Seven Husband of Evelyn Hugo" Book Review


I decided I needed a change of pace in my reading and obviously, this book has outstanding reviews, so I decided to pick it up.

Evelyn Hugo was a hollywood icon in the 50s and 60s. And now, she has decided its time to share her life story with the world. When Monique, a basic magazine writer, is chosen for the job of writing Evelyn's story, she is shocked, but honoured and believes this is what she needs to jumpstart her career. But as Monique is told Evelyn's story by the actress herself, she learns there is a lot more complexity and heartbreak to Evelyn's story than she thought; or than anyone else knew.

You're gonna need tissues if you decide to pick this book up. This was definitely one of my favourite reads of 2018. It was unlike anything I've ever read before. As a fan of classic movies and the 1940s-50s in general, I very much enjoyed this story for that aspect; getting to see hollywood in those times through the eyes of an insider. I mean, its fiction, but when you're reading this, it really doesn't feel like it. This book really opened my eyes to a lot of things that I never considered people in that time having to deal with. I loved this story so much and can't recommend it enough. I gave The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo 4.5/5 stars.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page