top of page

"Sea Witch" Book Review


Evie's best friend, Anna, drowned in the ocean when they were young, and Evie was never the same. But now, years later, a teenage girl shows up in town who looks exactly like Anna would at this age. Evie can't deny the resemblance, but the girl denies being her childhood friend. As Evie and girl become closer, Evie starts to discover her own abilities as a young witch.

There were some mixed reviews on this book, but since I love the Little Mermaid, I had to read this retelling, and I'm glad I did. I really enjoyed this book! It was a super fast read full of angst and drama and heartbreak. I wouldn't recommend if you are looking for a villainous tale, though. It was marketed as a retelling of the origin story of Ursula, the Sea Witch, so I understand why some people were disappointed because this is not the same villain you know from the Disney movie. Regardless, it was still a fun read. I haven't read many mermaid books, but this one peaked my interest.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page