top of page

"Every Heart a Doorway" Series Review


It's not easy to adjust to normal life for children who have previously been whisked away to magical lands and forced to returned. That's what the Home for Wayward Children is for. And that is where Nancy finds herself now. In the home, Nancy finds out that she is not the only one looking for a way back to the magical worlds once visited. But something sinister begins taking place in the home and Nancy may be able to stop it with the help of some new friends.

I had seen this series going around the internet for a while and was never really interested in the premise, but I heard a lot of people call this their favourite series of all time. Then, I got a membership to Scribd, which is an app that lets you listen to unlimited audiobooks. I saw this entire series was available on the app and decided that since the audiobooks were so short, I would give them a try.

This book was actually really good! I think the length of it really worked for the story.

I understand why this series is so appealing to so many people. It is reminiscent of books like The Chronicles of Narnia, Alice in Wonderland, and other stories where children find magical lands parallel to their own.

What really hooked me on this series was the second book. While the first and third books are not my favourites, I adored the second book in this series. It was everything I loved in a book and so atmospheric. It is one of my all time favourite books now.

I gave the first book, "Every Heart a Doorway", 4/5 stars.

I gave the second book, "Down Among the Sticks and Bones", 5/5 stars.

I gave the third book, "Beneath the Sugar Sky", 3.5/5 stars.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page