top of page

"Beautiful Bastard" Book Review


I picked up this book because I loved Christina Lauren's other book, Roomies, and this book was actually their first novel. Unfortunately, I hated this book. I actually can't remember the last time I hated a book this much, though.

Chloe is a personal assistant for rich, spoiled Bennet Ryan. While Chloe loves her job and the company she works for, she hates Bennet. He's what her and her best friend refer to as "The Beautiful Bastard" because of his amazing good looks, but his rude attitude towards Chloe. That is until the sexual tension between them is released one night in the conference room. From there, they're relationship goes from strictly business to strictly sexual.

This plot appealed to me as a fun, quick romance story. But, sadly, this story has no real plot. The only thing this book consists of is constant sexual scenes between the two main characters, starting right from the first chapter. I started counting how many chapters didn't have a sex scene in them and guess how many there were...one! There is one chapter in this entire novel that does not have sex in it! And while that's some people's preference, the sex in this book wasn't even well written! It was gross and not appealing at all. I gave this book 1/5 stars. I even returned the book to the bookstore because I didn't even want it on my shelves. This was super disappointing for me because I loved the only other Christina Lauren book I read. But since I liked Roomies so much, I am going to continue reading Christina Lauren's books.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page