top of page

"The Woman in the Window" Review


This book was getting so much hype before it was even released, so I was really excited to read this, but I had very mixed emotions about it when I was reading.

The premise of this book really reminded me of the classic movie "Rear Window", which is one of my favourite movies ever, so I was really excited for this because of that.

This book follows Anna, who lives alone because she is separated from her husband and he has custody of their daughter. Anna suffered a traumatic event that caused her to have agoraphobia, so she is not able to leave her home, so a lot of her time is occupied by spying on her neighbours...especially after she believes one of her neighbours has been murdered by her husband.

I love books with unreliable narrators. It really puts that extra suspense into the story and Anna was definitely an unreliable narrator. You really don't know how much of what she's saying is true or imagined.

As the book went on, I felt like there were almost too many similarities between this book and "Rear Window". The book even references multiple classic movies from the same era as "Rear Window". I just felt like the story wasn't very original. But after reading this book (and it's been almost a year since I've read it), I still think about it quite often. So, I have really conflicted feelings about the novel. The ending did have a twist that differed from the ending of "Rear Window", but I wasn't shocked by the ending at all.

I gave the book 3.5/5 stars.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page