top of page

"Things I'm Seeing Without You" book review


I read this book because I had heard really good things about it. I had heard that the representation of mental illness was accurate, so I decided to pick it up.

We follow Tess, who's boyfriend has just committed suicide, pushing Tess to drop out of high school. Tess moves back home with her father, who runs a funeral business. Tess starts to work with her father and finds a passion for his business.

While I do agree that the representation was accurate, I wasn't crazy about the story. I was in the mood for something sad, and this didn't really give that to me, even though the whole book is about death and grieving. While I enjoyed the humour in the book, I found the story flat and unremarkable.

2.5/5 stars


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page