top of page

"There's Someone Inside Your House" book review


I was so excited when I heard about Stephanie Perkin's new book. The concept sounded like something I would really enjoy and I heard people compare it to the Scream movies. Unfortunately, this novel fell short for me.

In this book, we follow Makani, a young girl with a secret past. At Makani's high school, students are being murdered. Makhani and her friends try to figure out who the killer is and the next victim will be.

I can't say much else about this book without spoiling anything.

My expectations for this book were really high and I think that's why I was a bit disappointed. I had a few problems with this book though. First, the identity of the killer is revealed early in the book, so there is no real mystery. Anther thing I didn't like was how much of the focus was put on the romance in the book. The romance overshadowed every other aspect of the book, which is not something I really enjoy in a horror story. It just seems unlikely to me that when your classmates and friends are being murdered, you're going to be worried about if your crush really likes you.

Another thing I didn't enjoy about this book was the focus on Makani's "dark and disturbing" past. I don't know if there's something wrong with me specifically, but when it was finally revealed, I was underwhelmed and thought it was overhyped. I was expecting something completely disturbing, but it wasn't that bad, in my opinion.

Something I did like about the book was the murders themselves. They were gruesome and scary, which I enjoyed.

2.5/5 stars


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page