top of page

"Darkhouse (Experiment in Terror #1)" Book Review


Let me start by saying that I have read Karina Halle's books before, but just her romance novels. I didn't even know that this series existed! And while I have mostly been neutral about her books (they're okay, but not amazing), I was blown away by this book!

This books is about Perry, a young woman who isn't happy with her life or career. When she and her family are visiting her uncle, she decides to explore an abandoned lighthouse on his property...at night...alone. While exploring, she meets Dex, a filmmaker who believes the lighthouse is haunted. After Perry gains popularity online by blogging about her experiences in the lighthouse, Dex contacts her and proposes they go back to the lighthouse together and film their experience, then try to get a deal for their own internet show with the company Dex works for. Perry can't refuse the opportunity and faces her fears, both of the lighthouse and of mysterious Dex.

This book really surprised me. It was entertaining and actually scary! I can't remember the last time a book gave me a good scare, but this one sure did! The writing was fast paced and the story really flowed nicely for me. I will definitely be continuing on with this series (which has 9 books in total). I gave this book a 4/5 stars.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page