top of page

"Bad Mommy" Book Review


Hey guys! I gave this book 5/5 because I was immediately drawn in and could not put this book down at all. I finished it in two days. I have always been a fan of Tarryn Fisher's writing. This is her latest novel and my favourite of hers so far. The first half of the book is from the perspective of Fig, who is a psychopath. Fig sees a young mom and her daughter at the park and follows them home. She then stalks the family, even going so far as to buy the house next to them. Fig becomes a big part of this family's life, all the while the family does not know how truly obsessed Fig is with them. The second half of the book changes perspectives, but in order to avoid spoilers, I am not going to share who's perspectives. When the book first changed perspectives, I was a bit irritated because I was enjoying Fig's perspective so much, but as I kept reading, I realized why the change in perspective was necessary and I still loved the other perspectives. I really loved all the characters. I found them very well rounded. Tarryn Fisher did a really good job and made me feel sympathy even for the very unreliable narrators of this story. I don't quite know how to classify this book - maybe somewhere between psychological thriller and drama. I would highly recommend this book if you have enjoyed Tarryn Fisher's other novels, and even if you haven't read her work yet, this is a good one to start with.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page